I say this with no disrespect intended towards anyone.

I can’t help but begin to feel fed up of the countless posts, articles and general mammoth media coverage on the Charlie Hedbo issue. There is no doubt that what happened was outrageous and unjustified- worthy of condemnation by all, irrespective of faith, colour, creed, affiliations and everything else.

But what I cannot help feel sickened by is the clear double standards and hypocrisy of the media, world leaders, international community and people full stop when it comes to dealing with massacres, injustices and general ‘human rights.’

The world is in uproar following the tragic incident in Paris. Yet as a global community, we are content to sit back relaxed and silent when it comes to other violations, atrocities and injustices.

I will not even begin to list these deliberately forgotten, silenced and marginalised issues – because it is simply not possible. To do so would be an injustice to every wronged person that we do not know about simply because our media, the international community and politics does not afford their suffering worth.

Why? Because condemnation and outrage is contingent on the subject. On who has been wronged, on who we are mourning.

The reality is that all human lives do not have equal value.

Politics and the media has a huge amount to answer for in the scaremongering it has created and the divisions it causes within societies. We are on a dangerous downward spiral of completely ‘other-ising’ the Muslim community. The *suspect* community.

Governments and leaders must wake up one day and ask themselves *why* these individuals commit these abhorrent acts.

I am fed up of feeling like I have to apologise for being Muslim. Or made to feel like I should apologise for the actions of ‘extremists’ within my faith. They are not within my faith, so I do not need to apologise. Even if they were, I still don’t. And no, I am not a ‘moderate’ Muslim. Just a Muslim.

When each and every human apologises to the other for every form of injustice we have inflicted upon one another, maybe we can start talking about real accountability.

An accountability that transcends the boundaries of religion and politics.

An accountability that is not selective in deciding whose life is worth accounting for.

